“Before I Fall” Book vs Movie

It’s been over two years since I have read “Before I Fall” by Lauren Oliver but it still remains at the top of my ‘most recommended list’. In typical Oliver fashion, the book was written with realistic characters, an interesting plot, and significant themes.

When I found out that there was going to be a movie adaption, I was terrified. I usually love when YA novels are turned into films. I admit, I liked “The Hunger Games”, “Divergent”, and “The Mazerunner” as films FAR more than I liked the books.

The difference between this book and the others I mentioned above is that “Before I Fall” was written for an older audience. All the novels deal with mature content, but Oliver’s book deals with the content in a much more consequential way.

That being said, I watched the movie adaption of “Before I Fall.”

I can’t say that I liked the movie more than the book, but I was definitely not disappointed. The plot stayed true, the musical scoring was fun, the emotion was strong.

MV5BNDYwOTY0MDI2OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwOTE5NzM2MDI@._V1_SY1000_SX675_AL_

Image taken from IMDB

I have two big critiques of the film. The casting was a bit off. I had a hard time picturing the cast as the characters in the book, especially the two main characters. It took a long time for me to stop noticing this in the film.

Next, in the middle of the movie I got bored. There was about 30 minutes in the middle that I was just waiting for something to happen. The plot deals with repetitiveness, and the book definitely handled this better than the movie.

IMDB rates this movie a 6.5/10 and I agree. The movie was definitely not awful, but I would stick with the novel for a great summer read.

Leave a Reply

