“American Girls” by Alison Umminger

5/5 Stars

I have finally found a YA novel that targets the older half of YA. I love it and I’m obsessed with it. I even have added it to my favorite books section on my about me page.

It wasn’t watered-down or too innocent at all. It was real, it was enjoyable, and every girl who has been a teenager before can relate to it.

What other author’s try to add in their novels, like an ‘outcast’ ch

american-girls-cover

Photo taken from Amazon.com

aracter or family drama, is almost always hit or miss. This book hits, and hits hard.

I loved how blunt the writing style was and the cynical humor. It is one of the only YA novels that portrays its female lead like that. Typically, when a YA has its main character be ‘sassy’, it just doesn’t translate how a girl in real life would be sassy.

Reading the synopsis of this novel might make the book sound very cliched, because the main character jets off to Hollywood to live with her actress of a sister, but the author handled it REALLY well and almost everything felt believable and natural.

One of my most favorite things about this book is how real the characters and the plot felt. Our main character isn’t perfect, and the author lets us know that throughout the entire book. It was a great reminder that we all have flaws, no matter how big or small they may be.

My only complaint is that at certain times I was slightly confused about small things, like what house a character is at.

This is the author’s first novel. You know what that means! If her first is this great, her next will be amazing!

You can check out the author here!

Leave a Reply

