Inconsistent Authors

“Anna and the French Kiss,” by Perkins was the first of the three companion books I read and I was amazed by how cliche yet believable the plot was. I was so impressed by how fun it was to read that I happily bought the other two books.

“Isla and the Happily Ever After,” was the second one out of the three that I read. Although it wasn’t as impressive as the first, I thought it was just a hiccup. Surely the next and final one I read would cure my hunger for another good romance novel like Anna’s story did.

perkins

Photo taken by me

Oh boy, I was dead wrong. “Lola and the Boy Next Door,” was not only the lowest ranked book out of the three, it was definitely one of the worst books I have read in my life.

The difference between Anna’s story and Lola’s story is on opposite ends of the spectrum and it’s hard to believe they were written by the same author. Anna’s character was developed effortlessly and the plot seemed to move itself. Lola’s character was written to be so far-fetched that it was ridiculously annoying to read and the plot seemed to drag on without a cause or direction.

Perkins is definitely not the only author to be incredibly inconsistent. I don’t mean to attack her, but it is a trend that I noticed.

I’m not sure what happened with Perkins, but often times authors are pressured to get as much work out as fast as possible in order to make more money sooner. This is a dangerous move because readers might be excited enough to buy the sequel of a series, but it doesn’t mean that readers won’t lose respect or appreciation if that sequel doesn’t measure up to the previous book’s expectations.

It’s the biggest let down of all time when the idea of a plot is interesting and unique but isn’t followed by anything. If you are going to put your name on something and release it into the world, you should want to take your time to perfect it. And just like any other sport or hobby, you should continue to strive to improve your writing, not settle with publishing your first manuscript in order to get a paycheck sooner.

Let me know in the comment section below if you agree or disagree!

Leave a Reply

