“The Haunting of Sunshine Girl” by Paige McKenzie

2/5

Before I buy a book, I check the reviews online. With 5,798 ratings averaging a 3.88/5 stars on Goodreads, I assumed this book would be a great spooky read. My assumption was wrong.

First, there are no plot twists in this book. All of the “surprises” that happen in the second half could be seen miles away. This was the least of my concerns though.

If there is one thing every girl can agree on when it comes to literature sins, it’s the “I’m not like other girls,” description. Sunshine (the main character) drilled it into the reader’s brain that she was hipster and vintage which made her an outcast. It was supposed to serve as foreshadowing, but was executed terribly.

Three words don’t constitute as a “Jane Austen” phrase, okay McKenzie? Any time she wrote that, it irked me.

If you hate redundant authors, definitely avoid this book. I’m estimating that the author uselessly used the word “literally” around 30 times within the 300 pages. Sunshine also says awkward and unrealistic phrases like “Jeezus Loueezus” and “blah” at really random times.

Next, it just wasn’t scary at all. There was three spooky scenes, maximum. This is particularly sad because there was a lot of potential here.sunshine-girl-cover

Finally, the cover has nothing to do with the story. Sunshine is nev
er described as wearing a dress nor levitating, so don’t expect that to be a scene.

Although I have many critiques for this book, I do admire the unique idea driving the plot. Another cool thing about this book is that it has little sketches at the beginning of each chapter that are enjoyable.

I don’t regret reading this book, but I definitely won’t be picking up the sequel any time soon. Think I’m being too harsh? Here is another review.

Leave a Reply

